6300  22 Mile Rd., Suite 3

Shelby Twp., MI  48317

(586) 323-1200

Minimum Wage

1/1/2017:  The following are the 2017 minimum wages by state. States that have no mimimum wage law are not listed. If a state has a minimum wage greater than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, you must pay the higher of the federal or state minimum wage in which you pay wages.

 

Alabama: $7.25, Alaska; $9.75, Arizona; $8.05, Arkansas; $8.50, California;  $10.00 (may be variations based on City), Colorado; $8.23,  Connecticut; $10.10, Delaware; $8.25, D.C.; $11.50, Florida; $8.05, Georgia; $5.15, Hawaii; $9.25, Idaho; $7.25, Illinois; $8.25, Indiana; $7.25, Iowa; $7.25, Kansas; $7.25, Kentucky; $7.25, Maine; $7.50, Maryland; $9.25, Massachusetts; $11.00, Michigan; $8.90 - a training wage of $4.25 may be paid to 16 - 19 year olds for the first 90 days of employment - minors 16-17 years of age may be paid 85% of the minimum wage rate as long as it is equal or greater than the Federal minimum wage of $7.25 - tipped employees may be paid 38% of the minimum wage rate provided reported tips plus the tipped employee minimum hourly wage rate equal or exceed the minimum hourly wage rate with any shortfall being paid by the employer - a wirtten tip statement signed by the employee and dated before the date the paycheck was received must be maintained by the employer for each pay period that tips are reported,  Minnesota; large employers/small employers - $9.50/$7.75, Missouri; $7.65, Montana; small employer $4.00 - large employer $8.05, Nebraska; $9.00, Nevada; 7.25 for employees who receive qualifying health benefits, $8.25 for employees

who do not, New Hampshire; $7.25, New Jersey; $8.38, New Mexico; $7.50, New York; $9.00, North Carolina; $7.25, North Dakota; $7.25, Ohio; $8.10, Oklahoma; $7.25, Oregon; $9.50, Pennsylvania; $7.25, Rhode Island; $9.60, South Dakota; $8.50, Tennessee; $7.25,Texas; $7.25, Utah; $7.25, Vermont; $10.00, Virginia; $7.25, Washington; $9.47, West Virginia; $8.75, Wisconsin; $7.25, Wyoming; $7.25.